Skip to main content

The top three boerewors-fundis in the country announced!

| Awards and achievements

The top three boerewors-fundis in South Africa, who for the first time in the history of the competition will have their boerewors voted on by the public, were announced in Cape Town at the Hop n Vine Festival on Saturday, 1 August.

They are Phinah Maimela (37) from Lydenburg in Mpumalanga, George Baloyi (52) from Soshanguve in Gauteng and Ayanda Dyanse (28) from Humansdorp in the Eastern Cape. 

These three contestants’ boerewors recipes proved superior when the South African Chef’s Association judges selected them from the group of contenders, including a food safety officer, a teacher, a 14-year-old school pupil; a programmer, printer and factory manager; and some very skilled butchers, at the Championship Boerewors competition’s Top 18 Round. 

The public can vote (via SMS or online at for their favourite boerewors between 28 August and 10 September and stand a chance to win R100 000 in prizes!  South Africa’s number one boerewors will then be announced on 16 September and be available in all Shoprite and Checkers stores nationwide from 18 September – just in time to celebrate Heritage Day or be enjoyed whilst watching the Rugby World Cup! 

The top 18 contestants were selected at six vigorous Champion Rounds held nationwide in KwaZulu-Natal, Free-State, Eastern Cape, Western Cape and Gauteng (two rounds) on 11 and 18 July respectively. The six events saw over 650 recipes tasted by South African Chefs Association (SACA) judges, to find South Africa’s top 18 boerewors recipes. 

As the recognised authority on food in South Africa, SACA, took charge of the judging processes and made sure that all entries adhered to the guidelines for making truly traditional boerewors.  The food experts judging the Top 18 Round were Martin Kobald (award winning chef and Honorary Life President of SACA), Carmen Niehaus (YOU and Huisgenoot Food Editor – for more than 25 years – and author of more than 25 cookbooks), Reuben Riffel (celebrity chef, 2004 Chef of the Year and owner of Reuben’s Restaurant, Bar & Deli and popular food consultant), Francois Ferreira (co-owner of the Francois Ferreira Food Academy), Jenny Morris (radio and TV presenter, author, celebrity chef, known as the “Giggling Gourmet”) and Thuli Gogela (food developer behind Mzansi Style Cuisine showcasing ancient culinary treasures from South Africa). 

Shoprite and Checkers are proud of SA’s boerewors tradition and celebrate it every year by hosting the Championship Boerewors competition. The supermarket chains’ butcheries are famous for exceptional meat products and the group is always looking for new recipes and ideas in order to offer consumers the best in quality and variety. The annual Championship Boerewors competition plays a pivotal role in helping the group to achieve this aim. 

The top three contestants are now one step closer to owning that amazing grand prize of a Hilux 2.7 Double Cab Raised Body L45 and all received gift hampers from sponsors Coca Cola, All Gold and Simba, as well as vouchers from Shoprite and Checkers stores.  Let’s taste and see who will be victorious and walk away with the 2015 Championship Boerewors title!


Pin It

Related Articles

Shoprite is News24's Company of the Year

This year's News24 Company of the Year is Shoprite Group, Africa's largest supermarket retailer. 

Makro makes history: Tallest trolley stacked in SA

Inspired by the iconic Makro Mood TV commercial, on Leap Day at the Centurion store, Makro partnered with renowned magician Wian van den Berg to stack the tallest trolley in SA in 3 hours, 6 minutes, and 6 seconds.  The event, which went live at ...

Massmart is officially a Top Employer…for the t...

On the 18th of January 2024, the Top Employers Institute announced Massmart as a Top Employer in South Africa for the third consecutive year, ranking the organisation in the 25-50th percentile of participating employers globally.

Meet the Shoprite Group’s top suppliers of the ...

Small suppliers Hope Sonic, Jacobs Jam and Crispe Cookies are among the exceptional suppliers honoured at the Shoprite Group's 2023 Supplier of the Year Awards. 

Woolworths notches up 13 wins at the World Chee...

In a display of excellence, a number of Woolworths' exceptional cheese suppliers racked up an array of impressive accolades at the prestigious World Cheese Awards. These included three gold, three silver and eight bronze awards. The ceremony was h...